GU preps for PSAC championships


The Gannon University men’s and women’s swim teams will compete at the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference Championships beginning Thursday at the Graham Aquatic Center in York, Pa.

The Knights will have several representatives among the top five seeds in a number of events, along with a few first- and second-seeded team relays.

Junior Morgan Lydic will be seeded first in the 50-yard freestyle with a time of 23.71. Lydic holds the school record in that event with a time of 23.59.

Fellow junior Emily Nottingham is the third seed in the 50 freestyle, only .06 seconds behind Lydic at 23.77.

Lydic is also a third seed in the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 51.71. She holds the Gannon all-time mark in the 100 at 51.60.

Senior Adam Chrzanowski will be busy on the men’s side of the PSAC Championships as he is the first seed in the 50 freestyle with a 20.75 time, a two-seed for the 100 backstroke at 50.31 and a two-seed in the 200 backstroke with a time of 1:50.92.

Chrzanowski holds school records in all three of those events as well as the 200 freestyle, where he is seeded No. 4.

Junior Denys Fedorchenko is a three seed in the 200 butterfly with a time of 1:52.92. He’s also seeded fifth in the 400 individual medley and is seeded seventh in three other events.

Fedorchenko owns Gannon’s best-ever times in the 50 free, 100 free, 200 butterfly, 200 individual medley and 400 individual medley.

The Gannon women’s swim team is a second seed in the 200-yard freestyle relay with a time of 1:35.76 and a second seed in the 400-yard freestyle relay with a time of 3:32.20.

Other high seeds for the Gannon women include Michelle Fischl, who is ranked No. 3 in the 200 individual medley with a time of 2:07.43; Amanda Knapp, who is seeded fifth in the 100 butterfly (57.48); and Samantha Favret, who is seeded No. 5 in both the 100 backstroke (58.11) and 200 backstroke (2:06.49).

Favret is the Gannon record-holder in the 100 backstroke at 57.72, a mark she set last season. Fischl has Gannon’s all-time best mark in the 200 IM at 2:06.15.


[email protected]