Men’s, women’s swim teams defeat John Carroll University


he Gannon University men’s and women’s swim teams returned to action this semester with a pair of meets — one against Shippensburg University and the other against John Carroll University.
The men’s team improved its record to 6-1 with a pair of victories, beating the Raiders at home, 148-69, on Jan. 11 and then defeating John Carroll, 182-106, Saturday on the road.
The women’s team moved to 4-3 by splitting its two meets — the Knights followed up a 111.5-100.5 loss to Shippensburg by edging John Carroll, 145-139, with the team’s 200-yard freestyle relay team finishing first in the final event to seal the victory.
Both teams return to action this weekend on the road, taking on Edinboro Friday and Grove City College Saturday.
Against Shippensburg, the men’s “A” team won the 200-yard medley relay while the women’s “A” group tied for first. The men’s team consisted of Maciej Skrzypczak, Eric Booth, Luke Engel and Clark Eason. The women’s quartet featured Samantha Favret, Brynn Driscoll, Meghan Terwilliger and Silvija Taraska.
In other events, Celia Kottakis was among the standouts, as she won the 100 freestyle in 54.76 seconds and placed second in the 50 freestyle in 25.24. Favret placed third in the 100 backstroke (1:02.93), Driscoll was second in the 400 IM (4:52.35) and the 100 breaststroke (1:09.36), Terwilliger took second in the 100 butterfly (59.70) and Taraska won the 200 freestyle in 1:57.37.
Makayla Williams took second in the 1,000 freestyle (11:40.02) and third in the 500 freestyle (5:50.09), Abigail Printz finished third in the 100 freestyle (12:12.00), Jill Prichard took third in the 200 freestyle (2:02.77) and second in the 500 freestyle (5:39.77), Marissa Scott came in third in the 400 IM (5:14.87) and Lauren Clifford won the diving event with a score of 224.55.
In the men’s competition, Booth won two individual events — taking the 400 freestyle in 4:21.79 and the 100 breaststroke in 1:02.76. Tom Marshall won the 100 freestyle in 48.32 and finished second in the 200 freestyle (1:45.33). Engel won the 100 butterfly in 52.45 and placed third in the 200 freestyle (1:47.17). Zach Werstler won the 1,000 freestyle in 10:27.12 and Ian Morgan took third in the same event in 10:37.43.
Eason took first in the 50 free (21.14), followed by Mike Weiser, who took second (21.67). Weiser also took third in the 100 freestyle (48.84).
Alan Collins took first in the 100 freestyle (53.76) as well as third in the 400 freestyle (4:27.07). Cole Davis took second in the 100 butterfly (53.41).
Gannon’s 400 freestyle “A” relay teams both won their events. Swimming for the women were Favret, Rega, Kottakis and Taraska, and they finished with a time of 3:41.53.
Team “A” for the men consisted of Weiser, Skrzypczak, Eason and Marshall, who finished with a time of 3:13.41.
In the meet against John Carroll, the women’s “A” 200 medley relay team of Favret, Driscoll, Terwilliger and Taraska took first with a time of 1:52.89. The men’s quartet of Skrzypczak, Booth, Engel and Eason finished second in 1:40.37.
Other first-place efforts in the women’s meet included Williams in the 1,000 freestyle (11:40.41), Kottakis in the 200 freestyle (2:10.81) and 100 freestyle (56.06), Terwilliger in the 200 butterfly (2:16.65) and 100 butterfly (1:00.90) and Taraska in the 50 freestyle (25.13) and 500 freestyle (5:28.53).
Clifford also won the diving competition with 211.55 points and the “A” 200 freestyle relay team of Favret, Rega, Kottakis and Taraska finished first in 1:42.81 to ensure the victory.
First-place finishers in the men’s meet were Ebel in the 1,000 freestyle (10:12.66) and 500 freestyle (4:55.03), Collins in the 100 backstroke (54.09) and 200 backstroke (2:01.11), Booth in the 200 IM (2:04.08), Davis in the 200 butterfly (2:00.00), Engel in the 100 butterfly (53.40) and Eason in the 50 freestyle (21.75).
Ryan Garich won the 1-meter and 3-meter diving competitions with scores of 199.85 and 156.95, respectively. Gannon’s 200 freestyle relay “A” team also finished first featuring Engel, Collins, Skrzypczak and Eason.

[email protected]