Gannon’s 2017 Athletics Hall of Fame inductees


The 2017 Gannon Athletic Hall of Fame inductees: back row left to right, Mel Witherspoon ‘68 for men’s basketball, assistant women’s golf coach Joe Mattis ‘69, women’s soccer star Colin Petersen ‘01, wrestling phenomenon Doug Joseph, men’s basketball standout Darryl Freeman ‘91 and softball superstar Jackie Mozga ‘99. Front row left to right, Director of Athletics Lisa Goddard McGuirk, women’s soccer standout Amanda (Sharbaugh) Spaeder ‘12, football powerhouse Sterling Pierce Jr. ‘03, women’s basketball star Tonya (Treharne) Kline ‘89 and Gannon President Keith Taylor, Ph.D. Along with being inducted into the Hall of Fame this year, Mattis received the Distinguished Service Award.