Women’s soccer dominates PSAC awards


The Gannon women’s soccer team continued its dominance of the PSAC, this time coming off the field, capturing three major postseason awards.

Head coach Colin Petersen was named the PSAC Coach of the Year, while senior Mani Brueckner was tabbed the Athlete of the Year and Olivia Augustyniak received Defensive Player of the Year honors.

The Knights are ranked fifth in the nation and are 18-1 heading into Friday’s PSAC semifinal match with Edinboro.

Gannon was undefeated and No. 1 in nation before falling to East Stroudsburg last Friday in the regular-season finale.

This is the second time Petersen, in his 14th year at the helm, has received the award, the other coming in 2008.

Brueckner was named PSAC Athlete of the Year for the third time in her career after recording a team and league-high 17 goals this season.

Augustyniak is the first player in program history to be named a conference defensive player of the year. The junior leads a defensive unit that ranks third in the PSAC in goals allowed (14), limiting its opponents to one goal or less in 18 matches this year.

Along with Brueckner and Augustyniak, senior Sammy Valloud was named to the All-PSAC first team.

Valloud has eight goals on the season, with five of those being game winners.

Gannon midfielder  Kaitlyn Kissell was named to the second team.

The Knights host Edinboro (13-6) in the PSAC semifinals on Friday at 1:30 p.m. at McConnell Family Stadium.

The winner advances to Sunday’s title match at 1 p.m. at McConnell Family Stadium against the Slippery Rock-East Stroudsburg winner.


PSAC Honors

Athlete of the Year: Mani Brueckner, Gannon

Defensive Athlete of the Year: Olivia Augustyniak, Gannon

Freshman of the Year: Delaney Meadows, Mansfield

Coach of the Year: Colin Petersen, Gannon

PSAC women’s soccer first team

Dara Demich, Slippery Rock

Jensen Hartmann, Edinboro

Kara Parvel, West Chester

Sammy Valloud, Gannon

Caitlin Binder, Slippery Rock

Mani Brueckner, Gannon

Halle Hammer, Edinboro

Diana Malanga, Kutztown

Olivia Augustyniak, Gannon

Sam Busillo, Kutztown

Chrissy Hollan, Bloomsburg

Erika Schrock, West Chester

Rachel Fox, Mansfield